Start Journaling Now, You’ll Thank Me Later

Start Journaling Now Shika's College Lifestyle Blog

Hello! Lately, I’ve been feeling so lazy, but I’m pushing through. I’ve been traveling every week for about 3 weeks now and as fun, as it is, it’s very exhausting.

I just got back to my school residence after my last spring break ever and I have spent the entire day sleeping. I am actually still exhausted. I need a vacation from my vacation. But I’m glad to be back to my regularly scheduled Monday posts.

Today, we’re talking about journaling, the thing that has kept me sane in this world.

Journal Now Pin Shika's College Lifestyle Blog

Do you want personal growth and development? Well, there’s something missing out in the scheme of things. You’re not journaling. Journaling is the part of your key to personal growth.

Let me tell you why. Anyone who knows me knows that I am a journaler. I always have paper nearby.

In fact, I used to steal tags from clothes as a toddler then cry uncontrollably if I dropped a tag or any paper I picked up. But, I digress.

The point is writing has always been a staple in my life. I always have a couple of different notebooks handy. I have journals for several epochs of my life. Each journal detailing some stage or category of my mindset at that period. But a lot of people do not know why I do it.

What is the benefit from journaling? Why does journaling matter?

There are numerous benefits but here are a few to start you off with. Journaling helps you to have a better understanding of yourself. Self-awareness is innate in some people and in others, it needs to be learned.

You can discover your values, goals, and ambitions.

I’m not saying you have to write in a journal. Some of us are averse to paper and others to writing.

There are audio and video journal apps out there. You can type your journals in apps. I’m just old-fashioned and prefer plain old pen and paper. There’s just something about pushing down that pen to the paper.

There’s something about physically drawing out the words. There’s something about feeling the emotion as you write.

Journaling can help you become more self-aware.

Photo by i love simple beyond on Pexels.com

That self-awareness can, in turn, help you to understand your emotions, your goals and ambitions. If you can’t comprehend the benefits of journaling yet. Let me explain the journaling health benefits.

Journaling can help with your mental health by providing insight into your emotions.

Photo by bruce mars on Pexels.com

The more you journal your emotions the more you can develop mental clarity about all your emotions. You have a way to document all your ups and downs. By fleshing out all your emotions you may figure out that maybe your actions were a little overdramatic.

Maybe you didn’t need to yell at your sister. You probably didn’t need to give her the silent treatment for taking your favorite blouse without asking. Then, staining it permanently.

Clothes are replaceable. Your sister, on the other hand, is not. You can gain more clarity and insight into the situation.

The whole point of journaling is taking the time to think about your actions and the events in your life.

You may have realized talking it out may have been better and that you need to process your emotions before speaking. Going over your emotions and events that have occurred throughout the day, you can gain more insight into yourself and others. Maybe you realized why your boss reacted to your minor mishap at work.

You may even realize that they are getting stress from their bosses which are causing them to indirectly stress you out. Their actions may not always be validated but, at least you have gained an understanding. You also have time to think on how to properly approach that situation in the near future.

You can become a better you.

You can realize that maybe the situation was more about them than you and learn not to take it personally.

You can track how you’ve grown.

My favorite thing to do is to write goals on the first page of my journal. Occasionally I go back to that page and see what I’ve accomplished and what goals have changed and why.

Journals can help you with your overall development as a person.

Maybe you want to be more outgoing. You can flesh out all the reasons why and your plan to become more outgoing. A journal is a perfect place or you to connect to your why.

It is also the perfect place to write your affirmations to help you achieve your goals. Your entire growth as an individual can be accomplished with the help of a journal.

Whether that is an audio journal, video journal, electronic journal or paper journal, that is all up to you. Experiment with what you like best. But don’t let the opportunities and the benefits of journaling pass you by.

Thanks for reading my rant,

Shikaardeta WordPress Signature

Like my post! Follow my blog! Comment below! How will journaling help you achieve your goals? Leave post suggestions below!

Follow me:

It’s not easy being a blogger! Please help support my blog! Check out my patreon!

Feel free to contact me for any questions, comments, or concerns at shikaardeta@gmail.com. Help me create better services for you by filling out a personal development consulting survey. I want to help solve your problems! Let’s grow together

Posted by

Shika Tamaklo is a pharmacist who graduated from Mercer University. She is a college lifestyle blogger who writes on fitness, health, life struggles, creative side hustles and occasionally dabbles in creative writing.

2 thoughts on “Start Journaling Now, You’ll Thank Me Later

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.