Challenge Your Motivation

Many times we find ourselves in a state of unmotivated paralysis during the year. In January, we start off with tons of motivation, new goals and a new attitude but, as the year drags on, so do we. We become less and less motivated to achieve our goals.

It’s not that we don’t want to, we are just tired and well…unmotivated. So, how do we keep achieving our goals even after our motivation is gone, let me help you.

Lot’s of people will tell you that discipline is everything. They are right to an extent but the majority is a mind game. You can discipline yourself by setting up the times, places and even purchasing the necessary entities for you goals but, what’s stopping you from not showing up to that appointment, not using the gym membership you paid for, or binging on Netflix into your designated study time? Your mind manipulation skills are weak and need some exercising. Here are some tips.

Accountability Partners

Photo by rawpixel.com on Pexels.com

This is the oldest method in the book. Tell someone you’re goals and let them hold you to that goal. Put your name on the line. What do you look like if you don’t do what you said you would do? There seems to be more at stake for you with accountability partners. You may not want to seem like someone who does not value their word.

“So what?”

Challenge yourself with “So what?” Yes, you feel unmotivated but, “So what?” Challenge yourself to figure out why you are feeling the way you feel and get past that momentarily so you can get things done. You feel tired. So what? Keep going. Sometimes, it is going to take challenging yourself and your emotions to get things done when you just don’t feel like it today.

“and,” not “but”

How do you keep from completely invalidating your feelings an pushing them away when you so, what everything? You don’t. The previous technique and the one I am about to introduce now are meant to be verbalized out loud so you can acknowledge your feelings,

This “and” techniques is something I personally use a lot when I do not feel like studying, especially, if I’ve procrastinated. You simply vocalize your feelings and insert an “and” in the places you would have said, “but.”

Regular Statement: I have a test tomorrow, but I am tired.

Modified Statement: I have a test tomorrow, and I am tired.

This way I am still acknowledging my feelings and my responsibilities at the same time. I am not creating excuses for myself not to do study but, I am also not ignoring the fact that I am tired.

The key to getting things done does not only lie in motivation.

Sometimes, we need different tips and tricks to get past our falling motivation because motivation will fall at some point. We just need to be able to work past the fallen motivation until we can get back to where we initially started.

Thanks for reading my rant,

Shikaardeta WordPress Signature

Like this blog post! Follow me for more motivational material! Comment below! What do you do to get passed a motivation slump? I’ve been there before many times. It’s hard to get back up.

Enjoyed my post? Please take the time to share with others on your social media platform! It will be greatly appreciated.

Follow me:

It’s not easy being a blogger! Please help support my blog! Check out my patreon!

Feel free to contact me for any questions, comments, or concerns at shikaardeta@gmail.com.

Help me create better services for you by filling out a personal development consulting survey. I want to help solve your problems! Let’s grow together!

Posted by

Shika Tamaklo is a pharmacist who graduated from Mercer University. She is a college lifestyle blogger who writes on fitness, health, life struggles, creative side hustles and occasionally dabbles in creative writing.

13 thoughts on “Challenge Your Motivation

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.